policy point of view. If the Committee agrees that the bill is acceptable in all respects and could be introduced in Parliament, it so reports to Cabinet and Cabinet decides whether to confirm the Committee's decision. If confirmation is given, the Prime Minister initials the bill and it is then introduced either in the Senate or the House of Commons, depending on constitutional and political considerations.

The order and manner in which a bill is considered in Parliament is the responsibility of the President of the Privy Council and House Leader who negotiates these matters with his counterparts in the opposition parties. If a bill is to be introduced in the Senate, the House Leader will discuss questions such as timing and tactics with the Leader of the Government in the Senate, who in turn will negotiate consideration of the bill with his counterpart in the

The Privy Council Office is a secretariat providing staff support to the Select Committee of the Privy Council and to the Cabinet. For the purposes of the Financial Administration Act it is considered a department of government. The Privy Council Office provides secretariats to serve the Cabinet, the Select Committee of the Privy Council and their various subcommittees except the Cabinet Committee on Federal-Provincial Relations, which is served by the Federal-Provincial Relations Office. Since the Prime Minister is, in effect, chairman of the Cabinet, he is the Minister responsible for the Privy Council Office. The work of the Privy Council Office is directed by a public servant known as the Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet. He is the senior member of the Public Service.

Parliamentary secretaries. The Parliamentary Secretaries Act of June 1959 provided for the appointment of 16 parliamentary secretaries from among the members of the House of Commons to assist Ministers in the performance of their duties. That Act was amended by the Government Organization Act, 1970, which allows the number of parliamentary secretaries to equal the number of Ministers who hold offices listed in Section 4 of the Salaries Act (i.e. Ministers with departmental responsibilities, the Prime Minister, the Leader of the Government in the Senate and the President of the Privy Council). A parliamentary secretary works under the direction of his Minister and has no legal authority in respect of the department with which he is associated, nor is he given acting responsibility or any of the powers, duties and functions of a Minister in the event of his Minister's absence or incapacity. Parliamentary secretaries are appointed by the Prime Minister and hold office for 12 months.

As of October 1975, the following parliamentary secretaries, listed with their Ministers,

were in office:

Jean Jacques Blais to President of the Privy Council Monique Begin to Secretary of State for External Affairs Keith Penner to Minister of State for Science and Technology Alexandre Cyr to Minister of Public Works Lloyd Francis to President of the Treasury Board Paul McRae to Postmaster General Jacques Trudel to Minister of Finance Fernand Leblanc to Minister of Labour Francis Fox to Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada Marcel Roy to Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce Arthur Portelance to Minister of Manpower and Immigration Maurice Dionne to Minister of National Defence Ralph Goodale to Minister of Transport Walter Smith to Minister of Supply and Services Maurice Foster to Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources Irénée Pelletier to Minister of Agriculture Hugh Poulin to Solicitor General Coline Campbell to Secretary of State Art Lee to Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs Victor Railton to Minister of Veterans Affairs Bob Kaplan to Minister of National Health and Welfare George Baker to Minister of the Environment and Minister of Fisheries Jean-Robert Gauthier to Minister of State for Urban Affairs Iona Campagnolo to Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development James Fleming to Minister of Communications

Cliff McIsaac to Minister of Regional Economic Expansion

Claude Lajoie to Minister of National Revenue.